Your pages can be published or taken down automatically by the UBCMS at a predetermined date and time. The UBCMS provides two methods—Delayed Activation vs Scheduling On/Off Time—each with its own pros and cons.
From the Websites view, you can quickly use the toolbar to choose Activate Later or Deactivate Later to preset a specific date/time for a page to be published, or unpublished from your public site.
This option is only available to those with Publisher permissions. For others, it will be grayed out.
Please note, you can over-ride the Activate Later / Deactivate Later settings using the standard Activation and Deactivation tools, although the scheduling will remain in place until the preset date and time.
From Page Properties, you can use Scheduling On/Off Time to quickly set a specific date/time range for a page to be displayed on your live website.
This is handy for a page that is embargoed UNTIL a specific date/time, or for a page that must be hidden AFTER a specific date/time. Do not use for a page that is already activated, or one that may need to be activated before the On/Off scheduling takes effect normally.
This option is available to those with Publisher permissions. For others, it will be grayed out.
When a published page is provided with a Schedule On Time, as soon as the page is reactivated, the page will disappear from the published site with a '404 error' until the On Time occurs as scheduled.
For a scheduled On Time:
Using these steps, a new page will be added to your live site, while an existing page will continue to be on your live site. However, the page will now be completely hidden until the On Time is reached. When the On Time is reached, the page will become visible on your live site and stay visible as a normal page.
For a scheduled Off Time:
Using these steps, a new page will be added to your live site, while an existing page will continue to be on your live site. The page will be visible until the Off Time is reached. When the Off Time is reached, the page is automatically deactivated and will thus no longer be visible on your live site.
Do not set Feature Time by mistake. Feature On/Off Time relates to "Scheduling" in list components.