Restrict access to a page and its children, limiting who can view or make changes.
Last reviewed: April 22, 2021
This feature is intended to restrict access to a page (and its children) in the author environment.
When restricted, the page(s) will only be accessible to those with access. For anyone else, the UBCMS will act as if the page does not exist. It will not be shown in the content tree, or the picker tool, and attempts to add or view it will result in warnings like "404 error" and "bad path provided".
Private Authoring does not restrict the live version, so do not publish a restricted page unless you are willing to make it visible to the public. (References in author that displayed "bad path provided" or were blank will show the actual content on live pages.)
The restriction is established in page Properties, in the Advanced tab. Any current UBCMS users or author permission groups can be applied and access for that page and its children is then restricted to those specified.
The ID of the person establishing the restriction is automatically added, but can later be removed by anyone with access. If all restrictions are removed, the page and its children revert back to normal access.
For those WITHOUT access (who are not specified in the restricted list):