Deleting pages will help you remove unnecessary or unwanted
content from your site. This can have wide-ranging effects—on
your site as well as others—and should be managed
Deleting an activated page is IMMEDIATELY reflected on your
published website. Please be very careful to consider the full
impact and ensure your Site Manager is aware of your changes.
Deleting a page may break links (see Important Note below *).
These steps will work if the page is:
• Not yet published, OR
• If you are an authorized Publisher for the page.
If the page has been published (activated) and you are not an
authorized publisher, you CANNOT delete the page. Instead, have an
authorized publisher delete it.
You can remove a UBCMS page that you no longer need. If there are links to the page from other pages (called references), the system will tell you where they are and give you a chance to address any issues before you delete it.
These same options are also available from the Sidekick of the
Any published page that is deleted without first being deactivated must be reactivated to avoid creating broken references on the publishers.
When a non-publisher tries to delete a published page, a message
will briefly appear in the upper right corner of the screen, saying
"not enough permissions to delete page" and the page will NOT be
BEFORE you delete a page in the UBCMS consider:
You can check whether other pages use the page you are
considering deleting (as a link or included as shared
Any UBCMS user with Author privileges can safely delete a
page that has not yet been published.
However, if a page is live in the publishing environment (meaning
the public can see the page) and an Author who lacks publishing
rights deletes the page in the authoring environment, the page will
not actually be deleted from your published site. This creates an
If you've created an orphaned page, create a new page in the exact same place of the UBCMS (under the same parent) and with the exact same name as the page that was incompletely deleted. Then ask someone with Publisher rights to deactivate the page and then delete it.
Was this page helpful?