University at Buffalo - The State University of New York
Skip to Content
UB Web Management

Transforming UB’s digital communications through process and tools

Activating or Deactivating Content

To publish a page or website, activate its content. Similarly, to remove a page from publication, deactivate its content.

On this page:

Activating Multiple Pages

To request first-time activation of your entire site or to request activation of a section of your site, please submit the Request a Site & Deployment Date form.

Activating Content

You can activate a page from the Websites console or from the Sidekick while editing the page.

Screenshot of the Site Admin view showing the "Activate" button highlighted and a file selected.

Click image to enlarge.

Activating from the Websites console:

  1. In the Websites console, select the page that you want to activate.
  2. Click Activate from the top menu or dropdown menu on the selected page item.
  3. The Websites console will reflect that the page has been published, displaying information about who activated the content as well as the date and time it was activated.
  4. An icon will also be also displayed:
    • gray = unmodified
    • blue = modified
    • orange = in process of being activated
      (information about the replication queue may also be displayed)
    • green = activated
    • red = deactivated
Screenshot of the Sidekick showing the Page Properties tab with "Activate Page" highlighted

Activating from the Sidekick:

  1. Select the Page tab in the Sidekick and click Activate Page. A message will appear that the page has been activated.
  2. Once you return to the Websites console, it will reflect that the page has been published, displaying information about who activated the content as well as the date and time it was activated.

Sometimes Additional Assets May Also Need to Be Activated:

  • Often pages are tied to other UBCMS assets, such as DAM images, downloadable documents, or tags.
  • When you attempt to activate a page that has related assets that are not yet activated themselves, you will receive a warning dialog box reminding you these assets also need to be activated (see screenshot below).
  • If you have sufficient permissions to activate the additional assets, you will be given options to Activate or Cancel
    • Click Activate to proceed, knowing that these assets will also be activated.
    • Or click Cancel. No activation will occur.
Dialog box that appears when additional assets need to be activated as well as this page.

A dialog box appears when additional assets need to be activated as well as this page.

  • If you do NOT have sufficient permissions, or you have concerns about activating the additional assets, do not activate the page. Speak with your Site Manager or Unit Web Leader, or contact the UBCMS Help Desk for assistance.

Deactivating Content

To remove a page from the published environment, deactivate its content from the Websites console.

Screenshot of the Site Admin view showing the "Deactivate" button highlighted and a file selected.

Click image to enlarge.

Deactivating from the Websites console:

  1. In the Websites console, select the page that you want to deactivate.
  2. Click Deactivate from the top menu or right-click on the desired page and select it from the dropdown menu.
  3. Confirm the deactivation.
  4. Refresh the Websites console. The page will no longer appear as published.
  5. An icon will also be also displayed:
    • gray = unmodified
    • blue = modified
    • orange = in process of being activated
      (information about the replication queue may also be displayed)
    • green = activated
    • red = deactivated
Screenshot of the Sidekick showing the Page Properties tab with "Deactivate Page" highlighted

Deactivating from the Sidekick:

  1. Select the Page tab in the Sidekick and click Deactivate Page. A message will appear that the page has been deactivated.
  2. Once you return to the Websites console, it will reflect that the page has been published, displaying information about who deactivated the content as well as the date and time it was deactivated.

Scheduling Activation / Deactivation

You can automate activation and deactivation with a pre-set date and time. > details

Was this page helpful?

(Required)
(Required)
(so we can thank you or request more details)
(Required)
(buffalo.edu addresses only please)