When a tag is moved or merged, any pages already carrying that tag retain a 'ghost' of the original tag in their meta-data. This can corrupt tagged lists that are built on a parent of the original tag.
Published December 21, 2015
When a tag is moved or merged, any pages already carrying that tag retain a 'ghost' of the original tag in their meta-data.
This can corrupt lists built upon tags, because the parent-child relationship of the ORIGINAL tag will still apply.
Pages that are tagged after the move/merge action will not be impacted, but pages tagged with the original version of the tags will unexpectedly appear in tagged lists.
If you have a compelling reason to move or merge pages, please consult with us so we can discuss other options or ways to lessen the impact.
And if you have already moved or merged tags, please let us know.
The workaround is to identify all pages that are tagged with the old tag (preferably before moving the tag) and then after the move, to update those pages by removing and re-adding the tag.
But we are not very comfortable with the workaround as an ideal solution.
We have never been happy with how the UBCMS handles moving and merging tags, and request that tag admins refrain from moving or merging tags until further notice.
We are investigating this issue further.