University at Buffalo - The State University of New York
Skip to Content
UB Web Management

Transforming UB’s digital communications through process and tools

Roles and Permissions

Learn about UBCMS roles and permissions or submit changes to allow or restrict access to your site. Be sure to have individuals removed from the UBCMS when they are no longer assigned to the UBCMS or leave your unit.

On this page:

About UBCMS Accounts

You must have an active UB account (UBITName) to access the UBCMS. That means you must be directly affiliated with UB in one of the following ways:

  • Employee (staff or faculty)
  • Student currently taking classes at UB
  • Volunteer with formal status   

Individuals without active UBITNames must be sponsored by their unit. This is often done by creating a volunteer appointment through University Human Resources.

For most authors who do not have User Admin access, please work through your site managers to ask the Help Desk to modify or create user access.

UBCMS Roles and Permissions

To ensure the integrity of your site, we only permit Site Owners or Managers to request changes to the permissions associated with UBCMS user accounts.

Usually, these roles are connected with specific sites within the UBCMS. (Site access includes parallel access to related shared content and DAM files.)

People may have more than one role in developing or managing your website, and their needs may correspond to one or more of the UBCMS permission categories.

Basic Roles

Role Permissions  
Viewer

Viewers are the most basic role in the UBCMS. They can view but cannot create or modify pages in the authoring environment. Viewers can see, but not modify page annotations. 

This role is often recommended for content proofreaders, reviewers and hands-off strategic leads.

 
Author

Authors do the lion's share in the UBCMS. They can view, create, move or delete pages in the authoring environment, as well as modify most of the content on those pages, except the header, footer and related links.

Only Publishers should move or delete pages that have been activated/published.

 
Specialist Specialists are authors who receive additional access to special features in the UBCMS, such as design mode and site configuration files, which allow for the manipulation of navigation, headers and footers, and the addition of non-standard or experimental page components.  
Publisher

Publishers can view and activate ('publish') pages in the authoring environment, making them viewable by visitors on the corresponding public website. Publishers can also deactivate those pages, removing them from the public site.

Unless they also are Authors, they cannot create or delete pages, or modify the content on those pages.

Only Publishers should move or delete pages that have been activated/published.

 

Admin Roles

This information is still being drafted. A pilot group is testing out User Admin control at the site level.

Role Permissions
Manager Can create or modify UBCMS user permissions using the (new) Group Managemer Tool.
Tag Admin Can create or modify UBCMS tags. Each site can request an admin to locally manage their site's tags.
User Admin
Can create or modify UBCMS user permissions. Each site can request an admin to locally manage their site's users.
Workflow Editor/Approver Editors who can complete a workflow subroutine; e.g. approve & activate a modified page.
Workflow Participant/User Authors who can initiate a workflow; e.g. indicate a page has been modified and ready for activation.

User Admin Tools

11/20/17
Modify or delete user profiles in the UBCMS authoring environment.
11/27/17
Also called LDAP Importer. Create new user profiles in the UBCMS authoring environment. To remove a user, see Deleting an Unwanted User Profile.

Was this page helpful?

(Required)
(Required)
(so we can thank you or request more details)
(Required)
(buffalo.edu addresses only please)