Remove an unwanted page from your site.
Last reviewed: February 24, 2022
You can remove a UBCMS page from the Author environment that is no longer needed. First make very sure it is not on your live website (unpublishing is always a best practice).
If there are references to your page from other pages (links or page inclusions), the system will attempt to tell you where they are and give you a chance to address these issues before you complete the action. Comprehensive advice on handling these issues is provided below.
These steps will work in the following scenarios:
If the page has been published and you are not an authorized publisher, you CANNOT completely delete the page. Instead, have an authorized publisher delete it.
Moving, deleting or unpublishing live pages will impact your public site, changing your navigation, updating (or breaking) links, and removing content from your pages.
BEFORE you move or delete a UBCMS page, please consider these points then use the following tools and action tree to resolve any issues.
Page references may be UBCMS internal links (built using the Finder tool) or pages that physically include your content either through a list component or a Shared Content reference.
Build a new Reference Page Report then set:
The results will display references to your specified page(s) including each reference's Source Page Title and Source Page Path.
References will include:
References will NOT include:
Note: To retain privacy for other sites, only partial information is shown for pages that are not visible to you based on your permissions.
The Page Report (login required) provides a comprehensive report of an entire site, including each page's publication status. Knowing which pages are live (and may be impacted by your changes) will lessen the possibility of any surprises after your actions.
Based on your page reference research, use the following suggestions to ensure no sites are damaged by your changes.
Once a page is deleted, it can often be restored to a saved version. Use the Restore Version or Restore Tree tools to recover the deleted page in Author. (Try not to restore too much in the process!)
Any UBCMS user with Author privileges can safely delete a page that has not yet been published. However, if a page has been published to your live website, and an Author who lacks publishing permissions deletes the page in the authoring environment, the page will not be removed from the published site. This creates an orphaned page.
If this has happened to your site, there are two solutions. to remove the orphan from your live site:
Then ask someone with Publisher rights to unpublish the new page to remove it from your live site. Once that is done, you can safely delete the new or restored page from Author (and your live site).