Publishing / Unpublishing Pages

Make your page visible on your live website (or remove it from view).

Classic Flex UI

This information refers to the Classic version of the UBCMS. Classic will be retired in May, 2022.

On this page:

Determining Page Publication Status

The colored icons in the page-list area of the Websites admin console indicate the publication status of the pages.

Color Description
Green The page has been activated (published).
Orange Activation (publication) is pending. This process should take under a minute -- may need to refresh page to see it become green.
Red The page has been deactivated and is no longer published.
No Color The page has never been activated but may have been modified.
(Modification details are displayed in very pale gray.)
Blue The page has been modified since last activation.

Reviewing the Activation Checklist

Here are some steps we suggest you follow before activating your content.

Before You Publish

  • Check all the links on your pages to ensure they are valid.
  • Make sure your pages display as expected.
  • Check any carousels, slide decks or slideshows to see if they display as expected.
  • If you are scheduling publication, verify your dates used.

After You Publish

  • You should always verify that your page has published successfully. 
  • Check your pages on UBCMS as your visitors would, using your published or "public" URL, not through the Authoring environment (e.g. http://www.buffalo.edu/provost/contact.html).

Activating Content

To publish a page or website, activate its content.

Activating Multiple Pages

Request first-time activation of your entire site or partial activation of one section of your site, by submitting the Request a Site & Deployment Date form.

You can activate a page from the Websites console or from the Sidekick while editing the page.

Screenshot of the Site Admin view showing the "Activate" button highlighted and a file selected.

Click image to enlarge.

Activating from the Websites console:

  1. In the Websites console, select the page that you want to activate.
  2. Click Activate from the top menu or dropdown menu on the selected page item.
  3. The Websites console will reflect that the page has been published, displaying information about who activated the content as well as the date and time it was activated.
  4. An icon will also be also displayed:
    • gray = unmodified
    • blue = modified
    • orange = in process of being activated
      (information about the replication queue may also be displayed)
    • green = activated
    • red = deactivated
Screenshot of the Sidekick showing the Page Properties tab with "Activate Page" highlighted.

Activating from the Sidekick:

  1. Select the Page tab in the Sidekick and click Activate Page. A message will appear that the page has been activated.
  2. Once you return to the Websites console, it will reflect that the page has been published, displaying information about who activated the content as well as the date and time it was activated.

Sometimes Additional Assets May Also Need to Be Activated:

  • Often pages are tied to other UBCMS assets, such as DAM images, downloadable documents, or tags.
  • When you attempt to activate a page that has related assets that are not yet activated themselves, you will receive a warning dialog box reminding you these assets also need to be activated (see screenshot below).
  • If you have sufficient permissions to activate the additional assets, you will be given options to Activate or Cancel
    • Click Activate to proceed, knowing that these assets will also be activated.
    • Or click Cancel. No activation will occur.
Dialog box that appears when additional assets need to be activated as well as this page.

A dialog box appears when additional assets need to be activated as well as this page.

  • If you do NOT have sufficient permissions, or you have concerns about activating the additional assets, do not activate the page. Speak with your Site Manager or Unit Web Leader, or contact the UBCMS Help Desk for assistance.

Deactivating Content

To remove a page from the published environment, deactivate its content from the Websites console.

Screenshot of the Site Admin view showing the "Deactivate" button highlighted and a file selected.

Click image to enlarge.

Deactivating from the Websites console:

  1. In the Websites console, select the page that you want to deactivate.
  2. Click Deactivate from the top menu or right-click on the desired page and select it from the dropdown menu.
  3. Confirm the deactivation.
  4. Refresh the Websites console. The page will no longer appear as published.
  5. An icon will also be also displayed:
    • gray = unmodified
    • blue = modified
    • orange = in process of being activated
      (information about the replication queue may also be displayed)
    • green = activated
    • red = deactivated
Screenshot of the Sidekick showing the Page Properties tab with "Deactivate Page" highlighted.

Deactivating from the Sidekick:

  1. Select the Page tab in the Sidekick and click Deactivate Page. A message will appear that the page has been deactivated.
  2. Once you return to the Websites console, it will reflect that the page has been published, displaying information about who deactivated the content as well as the date and time it was deactivated.
Scheduling Activation / Deactivation

You can automate activation and deactivation with a pre-set date and time. > details

Activate (Deactivate) Later

Pages can be pre-scheduled for activation and also deactivation at a future date and time.

THESE ACTIONS ARE IRREVOCABLE

Once a page is set to Activate (or Deactivate) Later, you cannot cancel that action or change the date/time.

Use this tool whenever you wish to automate future activation or deactivation of a page.  It is especially useful when you have updated a page but do not wish the changes to be immediately visible, or when you wish a new or modified page to be published at an inconvenient time.

It is also possible to automate activation or deactivation using the Page Properties 'Scheduling' tool, but once a page has been published, use the Activate or Deactivate Later tools so the UBCMS does not get confused whether the page should be active now.

Scheduling a Page for Activation

Screenshot of the Site Admin view showing the "Activate Later" menu item selected from the Activate button dropdown.

Click image to enlarge.

  1. Go to the Activate menu in the Websites console by clicking the downward arrow next to the Activate button.
  2. Click Activate Later.
  3. A dialog box will open. Proivde the date and time for activation and click OK.

Scheduling a Page for Deactivation

Screenshot of the Site Admin view showing the "Deactivate Later" menu item selected from the Deactivate button dropdown.

Click image to enlarge.

  1. Go to the Deactivate menu in the Websites console by clicking the downward arrow next to the Deactivate button.
  2. Click Deactivate later.
  3. A dialog box will open. Provide the date and time for deactivation and click OK.

Canceling a Scheduled Publication

Screenshot of the Sidekick showing an active Workflow tab.

Workflow section of the Sidekick.

To cancel the scheduled activation or deactivation, terminate the corresponding workflow in the Workflow section of the Websites console or in the Sidekick of the page in question.