Using Versioning

Classic Flex UI

This information refers to the Classic version of the UBCMS. Classic will be retired in May, 2022.

Create copies of your pages at specific points in time with versioning.

On this page:

With Versioning, You Can

  • Create a version of the page.
  • Compare the current version of the page with a previous one.
  • Restore the page to a previous version.

A version is automatically created when a new page or modified page is activated.  You can manually create a version; e.g. after an important revision.

Creating a New Version

Page Properties settings showing the versioning information.

The Page Properties Versioning tab.

  1. Open the page that you want to version.
  2. Select the Versioning tab in the Sidekick.
  3. Select the Create Version sub-tab.
    • You will be able to enter a comment pertaining to the version you want to create. This is optional.
    • Comments will show up in a box as you hover your mouse icon over the verision in the Versioning tab.
    • You can also set a label for the version by clicking the More >> button. If a label is not set, the version is displayed by an automatically incremented number. 
  4. Click the Create Version button. A message is displayed on the page to verify that a version has been created.

Only the latest five versions of pages are stored.

Automatic Versions

  • A version is automatically created when a page is activated or deleted.
  • If the page is reactivated, but not modified, a version is NOT created.

Compare with a Previous Version (DIFF)

Page Properties settings showing the versioning information.

The active Versioning tab with the Restore Version section active and the "Dif" button highlighted.

  1. Open the page that you want to compare to a previous version.
  2. Select the Versioning tab in the Sidekick.
  3. Select the version to which you want to compare the current version and click the Diff button. (Dates are displayed as DD-MM-YYYY.)
  4. The differences between the two versions will be displayed.
    • Text components (Title, Caption, Body, Intro) show red/green highlights to mark differences:
      • A component that has been deleted is highlighted in red and struck out.
      • A component that has been added is highlighted in green and underlined.
    • Non text components will just show the current version of the content although a Photo that has been added or deleted will be framed.
    • Highlights only apply to content that is actually part of page. External references to Shared Content pages in lists or embeds, DAM assets, or third party sites will show whatever is current in those locations. Site Navigation (to other pages) will also show current content.
  5. Select the Restore Version sub-tab and click the <<Back button to return to the current version.
screenshot of the DIFF tool comparing two versions of a page.

DIFF tool comparing two versions of a page.

Restoring a Previous Version

Page Properties settings showing the versioning information.

The active Versioning tab with the Restore Version section active and the "Restore" button highlighted.

  1. Open the page you want to restore to a previous versoin.
  2. Select the Versioning tab in the Sidekick.
  3. Select the Restore Version sub-tab.
  4. Select the version you want to restore. (Dates are displayed as DD-MM-YYYY.)
  5. Click the Restore button.

Digital Assets (DAM) Versions

Versions can also be created for files in the DAM.  

Was This Information Helpful?

(Required)
(Required)
(so we can thank you or request more details)
(Required)
(buffalo.edu addresses only please)